Seal of the City and County of San Francisco
City and County of San Francisco

To view graphic version of this page, refresh this page (F5)

Skip to page body

San Francisco Police Department Bureaus

The San Francisco Police Department is divided into three department Bureaus in order to operate efficiently and to better serve the citizens of San Francisco. All three offices are headed by highly experienced leaders in law enforcement and many years of experience in their respective positions.


Office of Chief of Staff

The Office of the Chief of Staff is responsible for providing administrative support to the Chief of Police, while effectively managing the Youth & Community Engagement Unit, Media Relations, Risk Management Office (Internal Affairs, Legal Division, Professional Standards, and EEO). Learn more about the Office of Chief of Staff.

Operations Bureau

The Operations Bureau manages the Patrol Division and Investigations Bureau of the Police Department. Learn more about the Operations Bureau.

Special Operations Bureau

The Special Operations Bureau supports the other units of the Department by providing specialized expertise and equipment when needed. Learn more about the Special Operations Bureau.

Administration Bureau

The Administration Bureau is committed to providing quality service and support to our fellow Department members and to the citizens of San Francisco. We perform a variety of services in the areas of budget management, information technology, legal research and counsel, personnel service, and logistical support. Learn more about the Administration Bureau.

Last updated: 2/3/2016 3:10:19 PM